Contemplative Cake

Wow it’s been a long time since I made a post. A lot has happened in the past six months, the most monumental thing being I turned 30. I don’t have a list because when I started writing it I sounded so cliche, like I knew something about life, but I don’t really, all I really know is that everyone matters and we should love hard, have respect and be our most authentic selves. I never expected I would be 30 and single without kids, which is completely okay and great, but it was an adjustment. I’ve made it another year and am grateful, who knows what’s around that corner. Here’s some advice from one of my favorites who lays it out straight.

“Don’t do what you know on a gut level to be the wrong thing to do. Don’t stay when you know you should go or go when you know you should stay. Don’t fight when you should hold steady or hold steady when you should fight. Don’t focus on the short-term fun instead of the long-term fall out. Don’t surrender all your joy for an idea you used to have about yourself that isn’t true anymore. Don’t seek joy at all costs. I know it’s hard to know what to do when you have a conflicting set of emotions and desires, but it’s not as hard as we pretend it is. Saying it’s hard is ultimately a justification to do whatever seems like the easiest thing to do—have the affair, stay at that horrible job, end a friendship over a slight, keep loving someone who treats you terribly. I don’t think there’s a single dumbass thing I’ve done in my adult life that I didn’t know was a dumbass thing to do while I was doing it. Even when I justified it to myself—as I did every damn time—the truest part of me knew I was doing the wrong thing. Always. As the years pass, I’m learning how to better trust my gut and not do the wrong thing, but every so often I get a harsh reminder that I’ve still got work to do.

We cannot possibly know what will manifest in our lives. We live and have experiences and leave people we love and get left by them. People we thought would be with us forever aren’t and people we didn’t know would come into our lives do. Our work here is to keep faith with that, to put it in a box and wait. To trust that someday we will know what it means, so that when the ordinary miraculous is revealed to us we will be there, standing before the baby girl in the pretty dress, grateful for the smallest things.”

― Cheryl Strayed


It’s all about the cake. 

NO BAKE Lime Cheesecake

Ingredients

1 cup boiling water
1 small package lime jello
3 Tbsp. lime juice
8 oz. cream cheese
½ cup sugar
1 packet Dream Whip, and the milk and vanilla it requires
1 graham cracker pie crust, Nilla Wafer crust works great, too
additional graham cracker crumbs for garnish, optional

Instructions

  • Combine boiling water, lime jello and lime juice in a medium bowl.
  • Mix and let partially set (stick in the fridge for about 20 minutes and it becomes partially set enough)
  • While jello is partially setting, In a large bowl, cream cream cheese and sugar together. Set aside.
  • Make packet of Dream Whip up according to box directions. Follow directions and store in fridge until ready to use.
  • Once jello is partially set, pour into cream cheese/sugar mixture bowl and beat to combine.
  • Fold in Dream Whip.
  • Pour into graham cracker crust and sprinkle additional graham cracker crumbs over the top if desired.
  • Cover and place in fridge until set.

This was such an emotional movie…Kristen Stewart did a good job and I’m totally in love with Nicholas Hoult.


Having had a big birthday week…schofferhofer grapefruit radlers are where it’s at, I will take one any day over a caesar. They are only 3% and totally refreshing.

Leave a Reply

