10 Things to reflect on at 29 Over Pasta

photo (35)Yesterday I celebrated my birthday. 29 ain’t gonna be so bad right? I only cried once and then remembered my mom’s advice (she usually gives it to six year-olds in her grade 1 class but hey).

“whenever you need to let it go, just think of Elsa and start singing in your heart.”

For all you Frozen lovers out there, you know what I’m talking about. It actually works, try it, you’ll smile. You’re smiling right now aren’t you?

Anyway it’s the last year of my twenties, so what better thing to write then a classic “10 things I’ve learned in my twenties” post.

I originally thought, oh my god all I’ve learned is how to not fall down so much and eat cilantro, so I asked a bunch of my friends who all had awesome things to say, but there were too many great pieces so I’ve decided to keep them for their own special post.

And I should probably think a little harder. I am that much older and wiser and serious now.

  1. I don’t really know anything yet, but I really like learning from people. all people. Learn from every single kind of person you can learn from, don’t close your mind. If there’s a lady on the street corner with a rat on her shoulder, talk to her.
  2. Confidence is everything, seriously, you can fake and trick anyone with a certain level of confidence, but with confidence you can also not do those things and be really kind and do great things and be an inspiration to friends, family, yourself and strangers.
  3. Don’t ever waste your time on people who don’t really care about you or are not helping you, this is a big one, a lot of people may seem like they have your best interest at heart, but actions are everything, people have to prove themselves to the people they love and  want in their lives, until then, they don’t get a spot at our kick ass life table.
  4. I know this is said a lot, even Jim Carrey plays it out, but say yes to everything (unless it’s super reckless and you might hurt yourself or others) I used to say yes in my early 20’s to everything, I stopped for a while, then started again. It will change your life. You will meet people you never thought you would meet, have the wildest adventures and discover things about yourself you never knew or may have lost along the way. Saying yes is magical and makes you live life and push your limits. Sometimes it can suck, but there is always a story that comes from it.
  5. Don’t. Freak. Out. Anxiety can suck the life out of you. I didn’t even know what it was until I was 24 and it took a couple years to get a handle on. EXERCISE. Do the things you love, live wherever makes you feel the most alive and know that you don’t haveta impress a soul! And, sorry it has to be said because it works like a charm, just breathe  it’ll all be OK.
  6. Love yourself. Love your family. Love your friends. Love the environment. Love love. Love puppies. Love pizza (but also sorta love your body and what you put in it).
  7. Respect.
  8. Help others, seriously. It doesn’t have to be a huge thing, you don’t have to save the world, but do your part, we’re all in this together.
  9. Trust yourself, even when you make bad choices, trust yourself to figure it out, move forward and learn and don’t live in the past.
  10. When hippos are angry their sweat turns red.
  11. BONUS: Find a reason to laugh everyday, and laugh hard.

There’s actually a lot of things I’ve learned, but I won’t get all thought catalogue on you. Maybe I’ll do another 10 things when I’m 29 and a half.


In a previous life I was Italian. This dish is a great quickie.

Linguine with Lemon, Garlic, and Thyme Mushrooms

Ingredients (serves 4-6)

225 grams chestnut mushrooms
80 ml extra virgin olive oil
1 tablespoon maldon salt (or 1½ teaspoons table salt)
1 small clove garlic (crushed)
zest and juice of 1 lemon
4 sprigs fresh thyme (leaves stripped off)
500 grams linguine
1 bunch fresh parsley (chopped)
2 – 3 tablespoons freshly grated parmesan cheese (or to taste)
freshly ground black pepper

Instructions

  1. Slice the mushrooms finely, and put in a large bowl with the oil, salt, crushed garlic, lemon juice and zest, and marvellously scented thyme leaves.
  2. Cook the pasta according to packet instructions and drain loosely, retaining some water. Quickly put the drained pasta into the bowl with the mushroom mixture.
  3. Toss everything together well, then add the chopped parsley, grated cheese and pepper to taste, before tossing again, and eat.

Forest Whitaker, I love your stuff.

I recently tried this beer at the Woods on Pender

Short Wave West Coast Pale Ale by Phillips Brewery

Pretty Good!

Leave a Reply

