How to Beat Anxiety with the Help of Babies and Beans

photo (1)I don’t think there is anything better than cradling a tiny human as they sleep. If there is a cure for anxiety I think that might be it (for me anyway). The sweet nature of this completely innocent human dependent on you to make sure they are safe and loved and wanted, can take you completely outside of yourself.

I don’t have kids yet, but my nephew brings a joy into my life I had not known before, I’m very grateful to my sister the stork.

Him and I got to hang out recently while my sister and her husband went to a wedding. He has never liked to sleep in a crib so he has a little bed, it’s sort of Asian in style, and he likes to sleep on his side and coo. It’s very adorable and reminds me of Benjamin Button.

Anyway me being me I had a bit of an anxiety ridden day and for anyone who experiences anxiety, you know how hard it can be to calm the fear and get out of the funk.

As those little arms reached up to me in the dark, dazed and confused and half asleep, I picked him up and he immediately went back to sleep, I didn’t want to put him down because I’m pretty sure he knew his mum and dad weren’t home yet and he woke up each time I tried with a crinkled “I’m about to cry face” so I sat there in the dark with him listening to his little snores, and for a moment everything was right in the world. All of the silly fears I had went away and once again I was reminded of how precious and irrevocably beautiful, life is.


I may have ate some of his home made brown mush. I think it was pureed beans? It was pretty good…so with that in mind here’s a tasty little breakfast bean dish (beans are good for the body and the mind, the selenium in them can pick you back up when you’re feeling low).

Bean and Rice Breakfast Bowls with a Spicy Avocado Sauce

The avocado sauce is what makes this breakfast. 

cooked beans (try pink, pinto, adzuki, or black)
cooked Sticky Brown Rice
chopped fresh arugula, Napa cabbage, or romaine lettuce
chopped green onions

Add all ingredients to a bowl and top with the avocado sauce below.

Spicy Avocado Sauce

2 medium, ripe avocados
1 to 2 jalapeno peppers, seeded
large handful of fresh cilantro
juice of 1 small lime
1/4 cup water (or more for a thinner sauce)
1/4 to 1/2 teaspoon sea salt

Place all ingredients in a blender and blend until smooth and creamy. Add more water for a thinner sauce. Taste and add more salt if necessary. Store extra sauce in a small glass container with a squeeze of lime over the top to prevent browning.


I’m a huge fan of coming of age movies… My Girl, Now and Then, Stand By Me,  Simon Birch, there are so many…this is one of my favourites.

My Dog Skip

 

Memorable quote…

“In my life I find that memories of the spirit linger and sweeten long after memories of the brain have faded” – Narrator

*note to my sister: don’t worry I wasn’t drinking the following while babysitting. 

*note to anyone who might care: this is a very refreshing cocktail that I also did not drink with my breakfast dish. 

Watermelon Julep

Ingredients

1 ¼ oz. Woodford Reserve Bourbon
½ oz. simple syrup
5 sprigs fresh mint
6 cubes fresh watermelon
Preparation

Muddle simple syrup and watermelon in a mixing glass. Add mint and press lightly to release oils. Add bourbon and mix well with cracked ice. Strain over crushed ice. Garnish with watermelon and fresh mint.

 

2 thoughts on “How to Beat Anxiety with the Help of Babies and Beans

Leave a Reply

