Ice Cream Makes it Better

beniWhen my family left England and moved to Canada we eventually settled in a small town on a street called McBride Crescent. It was your typical block, lots of kids, we never stayed inside, the closest we got to a screen was when we took the video camera out to shoot talk shows and the news (and JoJo’s rap hour).

Murder in the dark, kick the can, nicky nicky nine doors, potion making…that’s what my childhood was made up of.

My best friend David lived 7 houses down from me, I ran away (sometimes roller bladed) from home to his house on multiple occasions, like when I was running down the hallway with a string tied to my baby brothers pram (it was a contraption my dad had made to get him to fall asleep by pulling the pram back and forth on the deck) My parents had a huge amount of trust in me with the baby. It was really only this one time in the summer of 1992 that I screwed up…

I had decided our long hallway would be the best place to get him to sleep and that running would speed up the process…and be more fun. Well, I ran too fast and he flew out of the pram and landed face down on the ground. I was seven and he was…well not a new born but very little. I picked him up right away of course, but boy did he CRY. Needless to say I was in trouble. So I ran away because I thought I killed my baby brother. It turned out (thankfully) he was completely fine, except for a few rug burns on his face…

I vividly remember being at David’s house where we ate ice cream (while his mum called my mum) and played Guess Who. Eventually I went home and my parents calmly (this time) told me my brother was fine, but I was no longer allowed to use the rope to pull the pram.

Yesterday my now grown up little brother brought me ice cream, actually he brings me treats a lot. I love him he’s a really good kid, I don’t think that face plant did much damage.

Anyway, it’s ALMOST summer. This one’s for my little bro. 


 

melonWATERMELON COCONUT ICE CREAM (VEGAN, GF, AND NO ICE CREAM MACHINE NEEDED)

PREP TIME
3 hours 30 mins
TOTAL TIME
3 hours 30 mins
Serves: 4

INGREDIENTS
1 can full fat coconut milk
5 pitted medjool dates
⅛ teaspoon scraped vanilla bean or ⅛ teaspoon vanilla extract
1½ cups cubed watermelon

INSTRUCTIONS

  1. Blend all ingredients in a blender and transfer to a brownie or cake pan.
  2. Place in the freezer for 3 hours or until hardened.
  3. Break frozen watermelon mixture into chunks and place back in the blender.
  4. Blend until a creamy consistency is reached.
  5. Place back in a container or large bowl and place in the freezer to firm up for about 30 minutes.
  6. Enjoy!

Movie Selection?

Ex Machina  

Beautifully shot and well written.

Memorable quote…

“Impulse. Response. Fluid. Imperfect. Patterned. Chaotic” – Nelson (Oscar Isaac)

It’s Friday, so I’m grabbing a few beers and heading to the beach…

Hoyne is one of my local breweries, it’s awesome, I actually enjoy every single one of their beers.

Summer Haze Honey Heffe  is a new favourite.

Leave a Reply

