Salmon, the Happy Fish.

photo (21)My friend Brooke and I have a serious case of wanderlust. We have grandiose plans to travel north, south, west and east ten times over but haven’t quite made our minds up where to start. The plan is continuously changing.

But when I think about it, we actually have started, because Brooke’s home, and my second home is Pender Island, in the Gulf Islands. And Pender has endless magical places to explore!

Brooke’s parents recently moved to the island and are building a tiny straw bale house, which is going to be awesome. My parents are also redoing their cabin which is a few minutes down the road. We set them up on a coffee date a couple weekends ago. It was cute.

Pender is a unique life force. Steve Fisker describes the energy of the island so well in his beautiful short video

Over the past few years I’ve led a bit of of a gypsy life. I can’t seem to stay put in one place for very long, Sometimes this has been because of my own decisions, sometimes it’s been out of my hands. But the thing that brings me comfort and I know isn’t going anywhere, is Pender.

photo (22)
Boat Nook – Pender

My love, my inspiration. Whenever I step off the ferry and breathe it in, there is a calm that enters my life, one I search for a lot. and knowing that it exists in this place…is happiness.

Brooke and I adventure a lot on the island and are lucky to get to experience its specialness…if you’re reading this Brookie I love you girl. Thanks for being my Bach Remedy over the past few months.

A month ago I was in a place where I thought I used up all of my happy. My friends and family..and Pender, thankfully pulled me out of it and gave me a thousand reasons why that wasn’t true.
 
The point…it’s okay if I haven’t figured out where I’m headed yet, where I am right now is pretty wonderful!
“One’s destination is never a place, but rather a new way of looking at things” – Henry Miller

So..what’s to eat? West Coast + Happiness = Salmon (why?)

SALMON LEEK RECIPE

16 oz fillet of salmon
2 leeks, washed and thinly sliced
1/2 cup of parlsey, chopped
3 Tbs olive oil
1 lemon
Salt and pepper to taste

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees. Place the salmon fillet in an oven-safe container lined with tinfoil. Lightly salt and pepper. Sprinkle with parsley. Top with leeks. Drizzle with olive oil. And squeeze the juice of 1/2 lemon on top. Bake in the oven for roughly 20 minutes or until cooked to desired doneness. The leeks on top should be soft and nicely browned. Serve with fresh lemon wedges.

Aligot (french mashed potatoes) can modify to suite your cheese preference 

2 lbs. Yukon gold potatoes (about 4-6)
1 tsp. salt
3 tbsp. unsalted butter
2 cloves garlic, minced or pressed
1-1½ cups whole milk
4 oz. mozzarella cheese, shredded
4 oz. Gruyere cheese, shredded
Ground black pepper

  • Peel, rinse, and chop the potatoes into ½-1 inch chunks.  Place the potatoes in a large saucepan or pot, and cover with water, salting lightly.  Bring to a boil over high heat.  Reduce the heat to a simmer over medium-low and cook until the potatoes are tender and easily break apart when poked with a fork, about 15-20 minutes.  Drain the potatoes and transfer to the bowl of a food processor.  Wipe out the pan for later use.
  • Add the butter, garlic, and salt to the potatoes in the food processor.  Pulse until the butter is melted and incorporated into the potatoes, about 10 brief pulses.  Add 1 cup of the milk through the feed tube and continue to process until the mixture is smooth and creamy, about 20 seconds, scraping down the sides of the bowl as needed.
  • Return the potato mixture to the now empty saucepan and set over medium heat.  Mix in the cheeses until completely melted and incorporated, stirring frequently.  The mixture will be thick and elastic.  If the mixture is too thick or difficult to stir, add the remaining ½ cup of milk a little bit at a time until the texture is loose and creamy.  Adjust seasonings as necessary with salt and pepper.  Serve immediately.

Add a veg of your choice to make the meal. I had grilled asparagus. 


Movie choice?

“Hector and the Search for Happiness”

 

My sister and I watched this recently (on sound level 4 because my nephew wakes up to a peep) and it was lovely. The soundtrack is also done by our friend Dan Mangan. He is extremely talented.

What to sip on?

I’ve been into the white wine lately. I haven’t abandoned my first love rouge, but there have been a lot of new beginnings for me recently and it seemed like a nice change…

Dog Point Sauvignon Blanc 

Aromas of tropical fruits, ripe citrus, hints of lemongrass and guava.

It’s a little pricer but if you can find it without a mark up, well worth a try!

Memorable quote…

“Sometimes happiness is not knowing the whole story.” – Hector AKA Simon Pegg

Leave a Reply

