Southern Comfort: Garlic, Potato & Leek Soup

I recently returned home from a beautiful journey across the southern States with my boyfriend.

jjBack tracking, my boyfriend has been on a very long road trip with his dog Moby (he is a Siberian Husky and the best). Starting out in Victoria, BC he drove across Canada to Halifax (where I visited him first) then drove to NYC and down the east coast where he eventually picked me up again at the airport in Atlanta for my second visit.

Back tracking even more, my mum decided to dig into our British family history a couple of  years ago and many surprises were revealed (a whole other story) from this we discovered our cousins who live in Alabama. My great great great grandfather is their great great grandfather. So however that works. Nonetheless we met the first two of the cousins at my sisters wedding in 2013 and it was like we had known them forever.

So it worked out that my boyfriend was going to be travelling through the south and that I could go and see him AND see my new family. Our journey began in Atlanta, and took us through rural Alabama and eventually to Mobile where we met my family. I thought it might be a bit awkward but it was the furthest thing from it. Not only was their southern hospitality incredible but it really did feel like we were family, and I loved every minute of it. The reason I’m explaining this is because one of the family members is an amazing cook, and I am fairly certain I will be consistent in sharing his recipes.

Anyway, the first night we got to Mobile we showed up at my cousins and we were immediately whisked away to another cousins house for a home made classic Cajun creole dish. There were about 20 of us, it was awesome.

This ISN’T the creole dish, it is the the soup we had before the dish and I know my first post was a soup but it was SO good and SO easy to make I couldn’t not share it.

Stories and dishes from Mississippi, Louisina and Texas to come!

Garlic, Potato & Leek Soup

8 – 10 garlic cloves
Celery 2 stalks chopped
1 leek, white part only, rinsed and chopped
4 to 6 peeled golden potatoes, Quartered
3 tsb butter
4 cans Chicken stock
Cream

Melt 3-tbs. butter
Place vegetables in pot. Stir for a few minutes, cover with chicken stock.
Bring to boil then turn to simmer until tenderness (about 45 minutes)
When tender, puree with an immersion blender or in blender or food processor
in batches, add 1 cup cream and some pepper. Reheat and serve, freezes well

If I could have been watching a movie at the same time I first had this soup it would have been…

“Laggies”

 

I love Sam Rockwell so anything with him in it is enjoyable for me. I even enjoyed Kiera Knightley and her American accent. I can also relate to the feeling of just floating.

Memorable Quote…

“I don’t know what to do with my future and I gave myself a week” Megan a.k.a Kiera

This movie sort of elicited a drink of celebration so I chose…

Pink bubbles, it’s one of many things that speaks to my soul and Cremant Rosé is oh so lovely.

I know.. not an expert pairing, garlic soup and bubbles might not really go… but when your’e in the mood you’re in the mood?

Leave a Reply

