Soup for Sniffles

It’s that time of year, I thought just MAYBE I could escape it but alas the dreaded head cold has found me. I think every single person has experienced a cold in their lifetime and it can turn a lot of people into being a bit of a baby.

When I get a cold I am immediately in search of a little TLC, and if it can’t be found from another person I turn to making my Mum’s soup. It’s not the fanciest, but it is really good for you, cheap to make, and is a photo-22good substitute for a hug!

The smell of this soup is instant comfort. It reminds me of safety and warmth, it’s somewhat of a “everything’s gonna be okay soup.”

The beauty of this soup is you can throw WHATEVER you have in your fridge into it as long as you have onions. Onions are important.

Today, my soup ingredients were rather green, I usually throw some other colour in there as well.

The following makes about three large bowls of soup, perfect for three days of sniffles! 

1/2 White onion

2 Potatoes (of any kind)

5 Brussel sprouts

10 String Beans

5 Broccoli florets

1 Handful of spinach

1 Clove garlic

1/2 OXO cube (or whatever stock you want)

Salt and pepper to your liking!

Steps:

1. Chop all veggies up

2. Add a bit of butter to a pot (size of your choosing) Add onions – let them sweet for a couple of minutes. Add all veggies to pot. Salt and pepper away to your liking. Add OXO cube.

Fill pot with water until veggies are just covered. Bring to a boil then turn to low heat. Leave for about 20 Minutes. Strain water to your soup preference, I like my soup a bit chunkier so I strain most of the water Either leave veggies as is or puree for smoother soup, up to you!

I like to put cheese on top of my soup, it adds more flavour – however much you like!

Enjoy and say goodbye to your sniffles (at least for a short while)

Thanks Mumma for making this for me growing up and to this day whenever I’m feeling pathetic 🙂

Beverage of Choice:

I definitely have been sticking to the Bailys lately since I’ve been sick. There’s  not much to say about Bailys except I drink it a lot in the winter, at any time of day.

Movie Pick:


“What if” with Daniel Radcliffe… who I started to get annoyed of when the 4th Harry Potter movie came out, I’m not sure why, maybe I blamed him in some small way for the movies not being exactly like the books. But he has pleasantly surprised me as of late…and a lot of other people I’m sure after his latest stint on Jimmy Fallon.

It was a funny, cute, feel good film – medical school dropout Wallace, who’s been repeatedly burned by bad relationships. So while everyone around him, including his roommate Allan seems to be finding the perfect partner, Wallace decides to put his love life on hold. It is then that he meets Chantry an animator who lives with her longtime boyfriend Ben. Wallace and Chantry form an instant connection, striking up a close friendship. Still, there is no denying the chemistry between them, leading the pair to wonder, what if the love of your life is actually your best friend?

I ALSO LOVE ADAM DRIVER.

Memorable quote…

“Love is complicated, it can’t be too simple because if it’s too simple you don’t try and if you have no reason to to try, you don’t” – Allan a.k.a Adam Driver

Leave a Reply

